Skip to Main Content

Gannett-Tripp Library Home: For Distance Students

GTL Home Page

Library Services for Distance Students

Research Help

The Gannett-Tripp Library’s Research Help staff is dedicated to helping you solve your research problems. In-person and virtual Research Help service is available every day that the Gannett-Tripp Library is open.  For the library's hours, visit our home page.


Quick answers to frequently asked questions: https://libanswers.elmira.edu/

Phone: (607) 735-1862

E-mail: researchhelp@elmira.edu (a librarian will reply within one business day when classes are in session)

Research consultations are available on the phone or in person, at a time that's convenient for you. Contact Marge Kappanadze, Director of the Library, at (607) 735-1867 or at mkappanadze@elmira.edu to make an appointment.

Citing Sources

These links can help you with citation formats and citing sources:

The Purdue OWL site (https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/research_and_citation/resources.html) is another helpful resource.

If you have additional questions, please contact the Gannett-Tripp Library.  (Contact information is under the "Research Help" tab.)

Online Resources

The GTL has a wide range of online resources for distance students:

  • Library Search -- Located on the GTL home page, this tool searches many of our databases simultaneously for research starters, books, journal articles, videos, and more.
  • Credo Reference -- Start your research here!  Use the topic guides and Mind Map tool to brainstorm and fine-tune your research topic. 
  • CQ Researcher -- Overviews of social and political "hot topics". 
  • Ebooks -- More than 150,000 electronic books are available online through our Library Search tool.  You can open them online or download them to read later. You can find more information on our eBooks page.
  • Journal Articles -- Thousands of full-text online articles are available through Library Search. 
  • Databases by Subject -- See which databases we recommend for education, management, human services, and more.  

Database Help

If you're having issues with the Gannett-Tripp Library's databases, follow the steps in this Troubleshooting Database Access Problems document.

If you can't log in to the library's databases, please contact the Elmira College IT Help Desk at (607) 735-1915 or helpdesk@elmira.edu

If you have database problems after you were able to log in, please contact the Library Services Desk at (607) 735-1862 or researchhelp@elmira.edu

 

Interlibrary Loan

The GTL has borrowing agreements with other institutions for items not in our collections. Interlibrary loan services are available to all current Elmira College students, faculty, administrators and staff members.

Before submitting a request, please check Library Search to make sure that the item is not something owned by the Gannett-Tripp Library.

For details about using this service see the Interlibrary Loan page. As always, ask a library staff member if you need assistance.