Gannett-Tripp Library Home: Resources

Print Journals

Shelved alphabetically by title on the 2nd floor, south; may be used in the library only. Use the copy machine, film/fiche reader, or microfilm/microfiche scanner to view, print, copy, or save articles.

Electronic Journals

Tens of thousands are available through the Library's online databases. Use Library Search to locate articles, or search individual databases. Find journals by title, or browse the title list. If full text is not available, submit an Interlibrary Loan request. Online databases may also provide book excerpts, images, papers, and other documents.

Consider the many options for locating journal articles at the GTL:

• Library Search: Search all databases in a single search. Click on the "Articles" icon for articles-only results.
• Databases by Title: Find the database you need, or use the descriptions to select an appropriate one.
• Databases by Subject: Search from the recommended databases listed in the box at the left-hand side of the screen..
• Article Linking: If the database lists the article title, but does not provide the full text, click on the linking button to find the article in another database.
• Search or Browse Journal Titles: Type in the title of a journal to view a list of GTL databases that include the journal.
• Google Scholar: Search for academic articles. Available articles will be linked to Elmira College resources.
• Interlibrary Loan: If the GTL does not have access to the article, submit a request to acquire it from another library.

More information about locating and using articles is available on the Articles page of our How to Research guide.

Databases

The Library subscribes to over 100 online databases that are easily searchable, and are filled with scholarly content especially suitable for academic research. See the Databases A to Z list, or use the Subject guides for subject-specific databases. The Using Databases guide offers a lot of information about how to use our databases.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Quick and reliable resources for beginning research or finding quick facts are available online through quality databases such as Britannica and CredoReference. See a complete list on the Encyclopedias and Dictionaries guide.

GTL DVD Collection

The Library's DVD Collection, containing over 2500 documentary and entertainment DVDs, is housed behind the Library Services Desk.

DVDs can be checked out for 10 days and renewed for an additional 7 days. 

Finding DVDs in Library Search

Search for the title you want in Library Search, or search by a subject or keyword.

To browse through the collection:

• click on the Videos icon in the Library Search box
• type an asterisk (*) in the search space
• use filters on the left to refine your results (for example, scroll down to Topics, and select Motion Pictures for feature films)
• click on the title link to see the full record with summary and holding information

Ask at the Library Services Desk for your selection.

NOTE: Additional videos are available through the GTL's Streaming Video collections.

Streaming Videos

 Thousands of quality feature films and documentaries are accessible through our streaming media databases. See the Videos & Images page for a list of databases as well as a links to popular Web-based video sharing sites.

Images

 Art Museum Image Gallery and other databases offer over one million images. See the list of databases as well as a list of Web-based sites that include free, usable images.

Newpapers and Other News Sources

Local and national current and historical newspapers are available in electronic format. Other news databases such as Facts on File's World News Digest, NexisUni (Lexis Nexis), and CQ Researcher include news articles. See complete lists on the Newspapers & Other News Sources guide.

Chemung County Library District: Steele Memorial Library (Elmira)

The closest branch of the CCLD to Elmira College is the Steele Memorial Library, located downtown at 101 East Church Street. Present your EC ID and proof of your permanent home address (driver’s license) at Steele Library's Circulation Desk to obtain your free public library card. The Steele library is an excellent source for researching local information and history, with local newspapers dating from 1835 to the present. Other collections include audio books, ebooks, children’s and young adult books, popular fiction, biographies, DVDs, CDs, streaming media collections, and 24/7 electronic databases. For more information call: (607) 733-9173.

Charles B. Swartwood Law Library

The Charles B. Swartwood Law Library was established as the Supreme Court Library at Elmira on April 4, 1895. The library serves the bench, bar, and public in and around Chemung County. The library’s collection includes both Federal and New York State primary materials, West’s Regional Reporters, and general practice treatises. The library is open Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. and is conveniently located downtown in the Hazlett Building at 203-205 Lake Street. For more information call (607) 737-2983.

WorldCat Discovery (Library Search)

Search millions of bibliographic records from thousands of libraries in hundreds of locations throughout the world. WorldCat is our primary source for obtaining materials via Interlibrary Loan, with resources spanning thousands of years and nearly every form of human expression, from stone tablets to electronic books, wax recordings to MP3s, DVDs, maps, web sites and more.

Lib-web-cats: a directory of libraries throughout the world

Use to search for information about a specific library. Each listing includes links to the library's website and online catalog. Other information available includes the geographic location, address, library type, and the size of the library's collection.

Your Home Town Library

Use your personal membership to explore your home town library's online resources.

Library Staff

The GTL's librarian, staff members, and Student Assistants are uniquely trained to help you locate the resources you need. Don't hesitate to ask at the Library Services Desk for help or use the Help guide to find answers to FAQs or contact us electronically.