The Library is a great place to read, research, learn, collaborate, discover, and study. Our librarians and trained staff will help you find information, identify resources, and teach you to navigate and access the millions of resources that are available to you at your Library and beyond.
In support of Elmira College's Mission, the Gannett-Tripp Library provides leadership in the areas of information access and use by facilitating the collection of and access to appropriate information resources, programs and services for the continued academic, professional, and personal growth and success of the Elmira College Community.
Reflecting its Mission, the Gannett-Tripp Library:
I. adapts standards-based policies and practices guided by the principles of the American Library Association and the Association of College and Research Libraries.
II. satisfies the learning, teaching, and research needs of the college community by collaborating with faculty members to select, maintain, and provide convenient access to a diverse collection of quality print and electronic resources.
III. as part of the Student Learning Commons, provides a welcoming environment that fosters and supports teaching and learning.
IV. delivers excellent service to our researchers in responding to their information needs.
V. effectively promotes and markets the library's resources and services.
VI. provides useful, informative, and quality library research instruction in order to develop abilities encompassing the reflective discovery of information, the understanding of how information is produced and valued, the use of information in creating new knowledge, and the ethical participation in communities of learning.
VII. collects, preserves, and makes available for research, records of permanent value to the history of Elmira College, the life and work of Mark Twain, and other areas of historical significance.
VIII. manages, in collaboration with other entities, the preservation and conservation of Quarry Farm, the Mark Twain Study, and the Elmira College Art Collections.
IX. develops a culture of continuous improvement through ongoing assessment and planning related to Library resources, services, activities and programs.
The Gannett-Tripp Library follows the nine principles set forth in the "Standards for Libraries in Higher Education" (2011) published by the Association of College and Research Libraries. The nine principles are:
A copy of the ACRL "Standards for Libraries in Higher Education" (2011) can be found at:
The Gannett-Tripp Library is home to the Student Learning Commons at Elmira College. The Learning Commons offers, in a central location, academic and student services that support students' success and learning at Elmira College, including:
See the Contact Us page to view the Learning Commons directory.
The Gannett-Tripp Library welcomes researchers and visitors to Elmira College. As a private institution, Elmira College reserves the right to limit access to the Library and other campus facilities. Visitors to the Library may use print resources. Minors must be accompanied by an adult or have permission from the Director of the Gannett-Tripp Library. As a courtesy, the Library offers, for a fee, a Community Borrower's Card that allows members of the community to borrow from the General Collections. The Library also offers Elmira College alumni a complimentary borrower's card that allows borrowing from the General Collections of print books.
Use of computers is restricted to current Elmira College students, faculty, and staff. Public access computers on both the 1st and 2nd floors are available to search for Library materials. Due to subscription licensing contracts, use of the Library's electronic databases is restricted to current students and employees of Elmira College. Limited Wi-Fi access is available to Elmira College visitors, who can connect to the EC Guest Wireless Network through their mobile devices by selecting EC Guest Request and following the prompts.
Groups wishing to visit the Library must arrange their visit in advance. Contact Marge Kappanadze, Director of the Gannett-Tripp Library, at (607) 735-1867 or firstname.lastname@example.org
The student loan policy for library materials is available on the Services for Students page. Any additional questions about loan periods should be addressed to the Library Services Desk, (607) 735-1862.
Access to Special Collections, the Elmira College Archives, and the Mark Twain Archive is by appointment. Contact Marge Kappanadze at (607) 735-1867 or email@example.com Additional information about Archives and Special Collections is on our website.
Built in 1969, the GTL is a multi-use facility, open 108 hours per week.
The GTL is home to the Student Learning Commons @ Elmira College which provides a variety of services that support students’ success and learning at Elmira College, including Library Services, Career Services, Student Support Services, the Tutoring Center, the Writing Center, Counseling Services, the Nathenson Computer Center, and the Elmira College and Mark Twain Archives.