When to Use Books
Use books for broader and more in depth coverage of a topic. Check a book's table of contents or index to find sections especially relevant. Find valuable citations to other resources in the bibliography. For the most up-to-date information, look for books with recent publication dates.
GTL Book Collections
General and Oversize print books are shelved on the 2nd floor.
Mark Twain, EC Archives, Special Collections are accessible by appointment only.
Academic eBook Collection is accessible through Library Search. Find more about using ebooks here.
eBooks and book excerpts are included in some databases.
If you don't find the title you need from the GTL collections, submit an Interlibrary Loan request.
NOTE: Textbooks, generally, are not included in GTL collections.
Books on the Web
Search for ebooks on the Web.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowSearch millions of records from thousands of libraries throughout the world. Resources include books, maps, recordings, videos, and electronic media, including web sites, MP3s, DVDs and more.
Library Search
Tutorial: Using Library Search (video)
For resources not searchable through Library Search, see the orange-flagged items () on the Databases page.
Library of Congress Call Number Classification
The materials in the Gannett-Tripp Library are organized by the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System so that materials on similar subjects are shelved together. Each item is given a subject heading that corresponds to a call number which identifies the location of the item on a shelf.
Items are arranged on the shelves from left to right, top to bottom, according to call numbers. Call numbers are read in this format:
Finding Books
Select the Books and eBooks tab in the search box to the left.
Use Library Search to discover print books, ebooks, articles, films, etc
Citing Books
Go to the "Step 5: Cite" tab for more details about why and how to cite sources.
Export to Bibliographic Citation Manager: Library Search allows you to export your citations directly into your Zotero or EasyBib account. Read more here.
Use Citation Guides (MLA, APA, Chicago) for specific instructions on citing books in different citation styles.
Proofreading Citations: Even when you copy and paste or export citations, always proofread them for accuracy. Pay special attention to style, capitalization, and punctuation. Make note of any customizations required by your instructor.