How to Do Research: A Step-By-Step Guide: 2d. Articles

Periodicals are publications which are issued at regular intervals, such as journals, magazines, and newspapers.

To help you identify different periodicals, refer to the Types of Periodicals guide.

Depending on the database you are using, articles may be displayed in different formats:

• Index: Includes only the article citation (i.e., author, title, date, etc.). Neither a summary, nor the full-text of the article are available.
• Abstract: Includes the citation and a summary of the article's content. It does not include the full-text article.
• Full-text: Includes the citation and full-text article. This may be in HTML, .pdf, or both formats.

Tutorial: Using Library Search (video)

For resources not searchable through Library Search, see the orange-flagged items () on the Databases page.

Consider the many options for locating journal articles at the GTL:

• Library Search: Search all databases in a single search. Click on the "Articles" icon for articles-only results.
• Databases by Title: Find the database you need, or use the descriptions to select an appropriate one.
• Databases by Subject: Search from the recommended databases listed in the box at the left-hand side of the screen.
• Article Linking: If the database lists the article title, but does not provide the full text, click on the linking button to find the article in another database.
• Browse Journal Titles: Type in the title, or part of the title of a journal to view a list of GTL databases that include the journal.
• Google Scholar: Search for academic articles. Available articles will be linked to Elmira College resources.
• Interlibrary Loan: If the GTL does not have access to the article, submit a request to acquire it from another library.

The Using Databases guide offers information about choosing a database, types of databases, database features, searching, and troubleshooting.

Peer-reviewed articles are reviewed by objective peer scholars (referees) in the field prior to publication to guarantee that the research is credible and sound. Scholarly articles are written by experts, but do not necessarily go through the peer review process.

Scholarly articles usually:

• are written by one or several experts (scholar, professor, researcher) in the field
• are written for experts using technical language
• include an abstract, literature review of related research, methodology, data, conclusion
• contain notes and bibliographic references

By using scholarly articles you support your arguments with expert documentation, and engage in the scholarly exchange of ideas.

Many databases include only scholarly articles. Others allow you to select them in your search results.