Skip to main content

How to Do Research: A Step-By-Step Guide: 2c. eBooks

How to do research

Using the Academic E-Book Collection

Guidelines for Using the GTL's eBook Collection 

The Gannett-Tripp Library’s eBook Collection includes over 150,000 titles from EBSCOhost’s Academic eBook Collection and from the GTL's growing number of purchased ebooks--all accessible through Library Search. The Library purchases ebooks as the preferred format for books. You do not have to download ebooks to read them. Each book can be read online by clicking eBook Full Text under the entry in your Library Search results list. Tools at the bottom of the frame allow you to adjust the size and go either to the next page or the page of your choice.

Downloading eBooks

About 85% of the ebook collection is available for downloading for the convenience of reading offline at a later time, either on your personal computer or another electronic device. If you choose to download ebooks, you will need to:

1. Create a My EBSCOhost account:

  • Go to the Elmira College Library Search page.
  • Click on Sign In at the right of the toolbar at the top of the page.
  • On the Sign In to My EBSCOhost page, click on the Create a new Account link.
  • Follow the simple instructions to create your personal My EBSCOhost account. If you need help, go to How do I create a My EBSCOhost account?

2. Download Adobe Digital Editions, the EBSCO eBooks app, or other software:

  • For desktop or laptop PCs, go to http://www.adobe.com/products/digital-editions.html to download the free Adobe® Digital Editions software. You will have to take a minute or two to register for an Adobe ID which will allow you to access your downloads from your personal computer or mobile devices.
  • For Apple and Mac desktop and laptop computers, download the Bluefire Reader, free from the iTunes App Store or at Bluefirereader.com.
  • For iOS or Android phones and tablets, download the EBSCO eBooks app from iTunes or Google Play, find Elmira College in the library list, and sign in using your EBSCO account (see #1).   You can also use the Bluefire Reader, available on iTunes and Google Play.
  • NOTE: Elmira College employees who would like to download ebooks onto their office computers should submit a request through the IT Help Desk to have Adobe Digital Editions installed on their office computers.

For more information on viewing and downloading ebooks, see the EBSCO ebooks User Guide or EBSCO’s ebook support page: http://support.ebsco.com/e-books/

Using Amazon's Send to Kindle options, you can send your saved EBSCO ebook pages in PDF format to your Kindle or Kindle app on iPhone or Android devices, or read them using Kindle for the Chrome browser. For more information, go to http://www.amazon.com/gp/sendtokindle

Saving and Printing eBook Pages

Due to publishers’ restrictions, limitations vary on how many pages of an ebook can be printed. Some publishers do not permit any printing; some allow as many as 60 pages. It is also unethical to print an excessive number of pages due to copyright law.

After clicking on the title link in the search results, select the Save tool from the right sidebar. Select the number of pages you would like to print (the limit for saving and printing pages will display), and save the pages as a PDF, then print.

NOTE: If each ebook page is opening as a new PDF, follow the directions in this link to reset your browser’s settings.

Other eBook Resources

Note that some of the GTL's online databases include ebooks:

  • CredoReference contains 100's of current general and subject encyclopedias.
  • Literary Reference Center includes ebook material on literary topics.