EC-Home Button
Guide to the papers of the Executive Assistants to the President (2:5)
Creator: Elmira College. President’s Office
Extent: .84 linear ft. (2 boxes)
Inclusive Dates: 1919-1945
Access: Unrestricted
Language: English
Physical Location: Elmira College Archives
Repository: Elmira College Archives, Gannett-Tripp Library, Elmira College, Elmira, N.Y.
Preferred Citation:
Records of the Executive Assistant to the President (2:5); Container and Folder; Elmira College Archives, Gannett-Tripp Library, Elmira College, Elmira, N.Y.
ABSTRACT:
The collection contains subject and correspondence files of Ernestine French in her capacity as executive assistant to the President, consisting of records primarily from the 1930’s and 1940’s.
CONTROLLED ACCESS HEADINGS:
Elmira College
Women’s colleges—New York (State)—Elmira
Annual Reports
SCOPE AND CONTENT:
The Ernestine French papers consist of correspondence files to Board of Trustee members, faculty and alumnae and include files on historically significant events at the College. The files in this collection are comprised of materials from French’s role as executive secretary and as alumnae secretary.
ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION:
Accruals: Accretions are expected
Acquisition Information: Transferred from the President’s office
Processing History: Update to the Inventory and creation of Finding Aid by Nathaniel Ball, March 7, 2018.
ADMINISTRATIVE NOTE:
No prior finding aid existed for this collection. This collection was created from the original inventory: Trustees and President’s Biographies and Miscellaneous History of the College (BD:4). This collection was eliminated during the reorganization of the collection that took place in 2018.
ORGANIZATIONAL NOTE:
2:5:1: Ernestine French Papers
The collection is organized in alphabetical order.
2:5:1: ERNESTINE FRENCH PAPERS
CONTAINER LIST:
|
Description |
Container |
Folder |
|
Aldinger, Gladys -- Includes Newspaper Clippings, Correspondence [1937-1943] |
1 |
1 |
|
Bates, Sylvia -- "Elmira College Stories" [1919-1928] |
1 |
2 |
|
Broadcast Net -- Liberal Arts College Movement -- Includes Correspondence [1931] |
1 |
3 |
|
Broadman Library And Process -- Includes New York University Alumnus [1935-1937] |
1 |
4 |
|
Buka, Dr. Ruth -- Includes AAUP [1942-1950] |
1 |
5 |
|
Buka, Ruth Case -- Inactive -- Includes Correspondence [1930-1944] |
1 |
6 |
|
Bulletins -- Administration [1945-1946] |
1 |
7 |
|
Chicago -- Century Of Progress -- Fair -- Includes Correspondence [1933] |
1 |
8 |
|
Clarke, Harriet Pratt -- Includes Correspondence [1923-1930] |
1 |
9 |
|
Dondore, Dorothy [1944-1945] |
1 |
10 |
|
Finger Lakes Topics and Historical Map [1931-1939] |
1 |
11 |
|
Godey's -- Includes "The Lady of Godey's" Correspondence re., 7 Colleges Publicity [1931-1932] |
1 |
12 |
|
Dr. Frank Piesiepont Morgan Graves Pres. U Of State of N.Y. [1933] |
1 |
13 |
|
Highet, Dr. Mary E.-- Includes Correspondence, Elmira College Bulletin [1938-1944] |
1 |
14 |
|
Honor Roll -- Includes Correspondence [1942-1944] |
1 |
15 |
|
Kudos Preference Record [1944] |
1 |
16 |
|
Dr. Lent -- Includes Correspondence, Newspaper Clippings, Magazine Pages, Obituary [1930-1943] |
1 |
17 |
|
Lowman, A. Marshall, Comptroller E.C. -- Includes Cowles Hall Chimneys [1943-1944] |
1 |
18 |
|
Mandeville, H.C. President, Board Of Trustees -- Includes Correspondence [1932-1940] |
1 |
19 |
|
Meltzer, Gilbert -- Includes History of Elmira College, Correspondence [1892-1942] |
1 |
20 |
|
Movies -- Elmira College -- National Bureau of Private Schools -- Includes Correspondence, Scripts [1936-1940] |
1 |
21 |
|
National Cyclopedia Of American Biography -- (Phrauer) Includes Correspondence [1925-1935] |
1 |
22 |
|
National Geographic (Elmira College listed as first) -- Includes Correspondence, Page from National Geographic with Elmira College's Picture [1903-1927] |
1 |
23 |
|
New York State Federation of Women's Clubs -- Includes Correspondence [1933] |
2 |
1 |
|
Newsweek -- Includes Correspondence, Magazine Pages [1940] |
2 |
2 |
|
Oberlin College -- Includes Correspondence, Newspaper Clippings [1930-1937] |
2 |
3 |
|
Peck, Mary Gray -- Includes Correspondence [1937-1941] |
2 |
4 |
|
Pennsylvania Railroad College Trip [1880] -- Includes Correspondence [1928] |
2 |
5 |
|
Dr. Pott -- Includes Correspondence, Newspaper Clippings [1935-1945] |
2 |
6 |
|
Scholarships And Workaid [1943-1945] |
2 |
7 |
|
Trustees Control Figures [1942-1944] |
2 |
8 |
|
World War II -- Pamphlets [Undated] |
2 |
9 |