Gannett-Tripp Library Home: RG02.06 Cowles

Augustus Woodruff Cowles Presidential Collection (2:6)

Creator: Elmira College

Extent: .42 linear ft. (1 box + 2 oversize books)

Inclusive Dates:  1846-1896, undated

Access: Unrestricted

Language: English

Physical Location: Elmira College Archives

Repository:  Elmira College Archives, Gannett-Tripp Library, Elmira College, Elmira, N.Y.

Preferred Citation:

Augustus Woodruff Cowles Presidential Collection (2:6); Container and Folder; Elmira College Archives, Gannett-Tripp Library, Elmira College, Elmira, N.Y. 

ABSTRACT:

This small collection contains items from the presidency of Elmira College’s first president, Augustus Woodruff Cowles. 

CONTROLLED ACCESS HEADINGS:

Cowles, Augustus Woodruff, 1819-1913

Elmira College

Women’s colleges—New York (State)—Elmira

College presidents—United States

SCOPE AND CONTENT:

The collection is an artificial collection comprised of materials from various donations and campus departments.  Much of the material has appeared in campus publications over the last century, offering insight into the early history of the college, its struggles and successes.  Manuscripts in the collection concern the financial history of the college, the course of study, and a manuscript read at the memorial of Simeon Benjamin that gives a broad scope of the history of the institution.  Of interest are the correspondence files that reflect the speculative nature surrounding the issue of which institution had the right to be declared the founding institution for the education of women. 

BIOGRAPHICAL HISTORY:

Augustus Woodruff Cowles, a Christian minister, served as the first president of Elmira Female College (1856-1889).  He was born on July 12, 1819 in the town of Reading, Pennsylvania and was the only surviving son of Alvah and Harriet Cowles.  He graduated from Union College in 1838 and pursued a study in theology at the Union Theological Society in New York City, studying Christian ministry.  After completing his studies he taught in a classical school for two years before being installed as a pastor in Brockport, N.Y. in 1847. 

In 1855, after a series of changes to its original charter of 1851, the Elmira Female College prepared to open its doors on prospect hill in central Elmira and chose Dr. Cowles for the presidency, a position that he hesitated to accept out of loyalty to his presbytery.  After a year of operating without a president, Augustus Cowles was inaugurated as the first president of Elmira Female College in August of 1856, a position he held for 33 years. He continued to serve the college as President Emeritus and during this time he was summoned three times to assume the role of acting president.  The name of Augustus Cowles became inextricably linked with Elmira and the education of women became his life’s work.  The Main Hall and first college building was designated as “Cowles Hall” by the Board of Trustees in 1917 as a way to further solidify the relationship.  

Dr. Augustus Cowles died on March 23^rd, 1913.  Cameron MacKenzie, the serving Elmira College President gave the eulogy.

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION:

Accruals: Accretions are not expected

Acquisition Information: Transferred from the President’s office

Processing History: Update to the Inventory and creation of Finding Aid by Nathaniel Ball, March 6, 2018.

ADMINISTRATIVE NOTE:

No prior finding aid existed for this collection.  This record group was primarily created from the former inventory: Augustus Cowles (PR:6).

ORGANIZATIONAL NOTE:

The collection is organized in chronological order.

CONTAINER LIST: