EC-Home Button
John Balcom Shaw Presidential Collection, 1915-1918 (2:11)
Creator: Elmira College
Extent: .42 linear ft. (1 manuscript box)
Inclusive Dates: 1915-1918, undated
Access: Unrestricted
Language: English
Physical Location: Elmira College Archives
Repository: Elmira College Archives, Gannett-Tripp Library, Elmira College, Elmira, N.Y.
Preferred Citation:
John Balcom Shaw Presidential Papers (2:11); Container and Folder; Elmira College Archives, Gannett-Tripp Library, Elmira College, Elmira, N.Y.
ABSTRACT:
This small collection contains items from the presidency of Elmira College’s sixth president, John Balcom Shaw.
CONTROLLED ACCESS HEADINGS:
Elmira College
Women’s colleges—New York (State)—Elmira
College presidents—United States
SCOPE AND CONTENT:
The papers are an artificial collection comprised of materials from various donations and campus departments and are not a complete record of Shaw’s presidency. The bulk of the collection is comprised of correspondence pertaining to the faculty, addition of campus buildings, and correspondence with governing boards including the New York State Education Department and the College Board of the Presbyterian Church.
BIOGRAPHICAL HISTORY:
Dr. John Balcom Shaw was born in Bellport, New York, May 12, 1860, the sixth son of Joseph M. Shaw and Amanda C. Gerard. Dr. Shaw studied at the Bridgehampton Academy, 1875-1876, and the Centenary Collegiate Institute, 1880-1881, and was graduated from Lafayette College as Valedictorian in 1885, receiving his A.M. in 1888. He was graduated from Union Theological Seminary, New York City, where he built up one of the strongest and most active churches in the city. He was pastor of the Second Church, Chicago, 1904-1913, and the Immanuel Church, Los Angeles, California, 1913-1915. He was president of Elmira College 1915-1918.
MacDougall, D. Scots and Scots’ Descendants in American, Vol. 1. New York : Caledonian Pub. Co., 1917, p. 353
ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION:
Accruals: Accretions are not expected
Acquisition Information: n/a
Processing History: Update to the Inventory and creation of Finding Aid by Nathaniel Ball, August 23, 2018.
ADMINISTRATIVE NOTE:
No prior finding aid existed for this collection. This record group was primarily created from the former inventory: Records of John Balcom Shaw (PR:11).
ORGANIZATIONAL NOTE:
The collection is organized in chronological order.
CONTAINER LIST:
|
Description |
Container |
Folder |
|
Annual Report to the New York State Department of Education [1915] |
1 |
1 |
|
Miscellaneous items -- "Present arrangements," Christmas card to alumnae and fundraising pamphlet, "An Astonishing Quest" [1915] |
1 |
2 |
|
Inauguration -- Newspaper Clipping, Program [1916] |
1 |
3 |
|
Faculty -- Correspondence, primarily concerning appointments to the College [1915-1917] |
1 |
4 |
|
Buildings correspondence -- Erection of new buildings on campus, including dining hall and dormitory [1915-1917] |
1 |
5 |
|
Carnegie Foundation -- Correspondence [1916-1918] |
1 |
6 |
|
College Board of the Presbyterian Church -- Correspondence [1916-1918] |
1 |
7 |
|
Memorial Gate -- Correspondence [1916] |
1 |
8 |
|
Trustee Correspondence [1916-1917] |
1 |
9 |
|
Annie Royal Brown Memorial Window -- Includes Correspondence, Newspaper Clipping [1917-1918] |
1 |
10 |
|
President's reception -- Invitation [undated] |
1 |
11 |