EC-Home Button
Research and Collections
Frederick Lent Presidential Collection, 1918-1935 (2:12)
Creator: Elmira College
Extent: 1.67 linear ft. (4 manuscript boxes)
Inclusive Dates: 1856-1935
Access: Unrestricted
Language: English
Physical Location: Elmira College Archives
Repository: Elmira College Archives, Gannett-Tripp Library, Elmira College, Elmira, N.Y.
Preferred Citation:
Frederick Lent Presidential Collection (2:12); Container and Folder; Elmira College Archives, Gannett-Tripp Library, Elmira College, Elmira, N.Y.
ABSTRACT:
The bulk of this small collection is comprised of correspondence. The collection also includes fundraising materials, sermons, building and memorial materials, with an insignificant amount of administrative records from the presidency of Elmira College’s seventh president, Frederick Lent.
CONTROLLED ACCESS HEADINGS:
Lent, Frederick
Elmira College
Women’s colleges—New York (State)—Elmira
College presidents—United States
SCOPE AND CONTENT:
The papers are an artificial collection comprised of materials from various donations and campus departments and are not a complete record of Lent’s presidency. The bulk of the collection is comprised of correspondence pertaining to the faculty, sermons, the addition of campus buildings, and correspondence with governing boards.
BIOGRAPHICAL HISTORY:
Dr. Frederick Lent was born June 10, 1872, at Freeport, Nova Scotia... He received his preparatory education at Leicester Academy in Massachusetts and graduated from Brown University in 1900 with the B.A. degree, receiving that same year the degree of bachelor of divinity from Newton Theological Institution. He received his master’s degree from Brown in 1901, his Ph.D. from Yale in 1906, the honorary degree of doctor of divinity from Brown in 1922 and that of doctor of laws from Colgate that same year.
Ordained into the Baptist ministry in 1895, he held pastorates at Calvary Church, Salem, Mass., at Oaklawn, R. I., and at the First Church of New Haven, Conn.
Dr. Lent began his collegiate teaching career in 1900 when he became an instructor in Biblical literature at Brown. He taught at Yale University from 1903 to 1907 and in 1909 and 1910.
For several years Dr. lent was chairman of the committee on visitation for the Prison Association of Connecticut and president of the Connecticut Baptist Convention. He was a trustee of Newton Theological Institution, a member of the board of managers of the American Baptist Home Missions Society and president of the boards of Bishop College, Marshall, Texas, and Leland College, Baker, La.
He was a member of the Brown University Phi Beta Kappa Chapter and a charter member of the Elmira College chapter, of Chi Phi fraternity and of the American Oriental Society. He was a prolific writer on educational and religious subjects. His books include the Life of Simon Stylite and Three Minute Talks. He was author and translator of numerous plays, many of which were presented at the college. His baccalaureate sermons were so highly thought of that many of them were published, receiving favorable comment and appreciation.
Under his administration the student body grew from about three hundred twenty-three in 1918, when Dr. Lent assumed the presidency, until in 1930 it reached a maximum of five hundred ninety-five enrolled students. During the same period the teaching staff increased from twenty-nine… to a total of sixty teachers. The Tompkins dormitory and the library building with its Fassett Memorial, were added to [the physical] plant.
Dr. Frederick Lent, president of Elmira College from 1918 to 1935 died suddenly on December 30, 1942.
[Elmira College Bulletin, March 1943, Volume 34, No. 1]
ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION:
Accruals: Accretions are not expected
Acquisition Information: n/a
Processing History: Update to the Inventory and creation of Finding Aid by Nathaniel Ball, April 16, 2019.
ADMINISTRATIVE NOTE:
No prior finding aid existed for this collection. This record group was primarily created from the former inventory: Records of Frederick Lent (PR:12).
ORGANIZATIONAL NOTE:
This collection is arranged in alphabetical order by folder title.
CONTAINER LIST:
|
Description |
Container |
Folder |
|
Annuities -- Includes perpetual scholarships, correspondence [1856-1934] |
1 |
1 |
|
Bible -- President Lent's Die Bibel (Book in German) [1875] |
1 |
2 |
|
Board of Christian Education of the Presbyterian Church -- Correspondence [1934-1935] |
1 |
3 |
|
Carnegie Foundation -- Correspondence and materials [1922-1934] |
1 |
4 |
|
Christmas (Holiday) Cards [1925, undated] |
1 |
5 |
|
College Board of the Presbyterian Church [1920-1935] |
1 |
6 |
|
Coolidge, Shepley, Bull Finch -- Includes Correspondence, Newspaper [1923-1931] |
1 |
7 |
|
Corning -- Includes Correspondence [1924-1931] |
1 |
8 |
|
Correspondence -- Miscellaneous [1921-1934] |
1 |
9 |
|
Correspondence: 75th Anniversary [1929-1930] |
||
|
Doty Gateway -- Includes Correspondence [1917-1924] |
1 |
10 |
|
Ford Memorial -- Includes Correspondence [1919-1925] |
1 |
11 |
|
Million Dollar Campaign -- Correspondence [1920-1930] |
2 |
1 |
|
Faculty Correspondence [1920-1922] |
2 |
2 |
|
Faculty Correspondence [1922-1924] |
2 |
3 |
|
Faculty Correspondence [19226-1927] |
2 |
4 |
|
Faculty Correspondence [1927] |
2 |
5 |
|
Faculty Data [1921] |
2 |
6 |
|
Former Faculty -- Correspondence [1928-1932] |
2 |
7 |
|
Fund Drive -- Correspondence (1 of 3) [1929] |
2 |
8 |
|
Fund Drive -- Correspondence (2 of 3) [1929] |
3 |
1 |
|
Fund Drive -- Correspondence (3 of 3) [1929] |
3 |
2 |
|
Fund Drive: Re-Payment of Pledges -- Includes Correspondence [1923-1931] |
3 |
3 |
|
General Education Board -- Correspondence [1920-1935] |
3 |
4 |
|
Hawkes, Mrs. Belle Sherwood -- Correspondence about a memorial [1922-1929] |
3 |
5 |
|
Hoover, Lou Henry -- Includes Correspondence [1930-1935] |
3 |
6 |
|
Hornell Campaign -- Includes Correspondence [1923] |
3 |
7 |
|
New York State Education Board (Regents) -- Annual Reports [1920-1921] |
3 |
8 |
|
Rockefeller -- Correspondence concerning financial assistance [1928] |
3 |
9 |
|
Salaries in Colleges for Women -- Includes Key to Chart [1923-1924] |
3 |
10 |
|
Sermons -- Baccalaureate Sermons (bound book) [1919-1931] |
3 |
11 |
|
Sermons -- Three Minute Talks (book) [ca.1915] |
3 |
12 |
|
Sermons -- Miscellaneous publications |
4 |
1 |
|
Sesquicentennial Exposition -- Includes Correspondence, Blueprints, Booklets [1926] |
4 |
2 |
|
Sarah Wey Tompkins Hall -- Building Proposals, Correspondence, Estimates [1925-1926] |
4 |
3 |
|
Trustee's Correspondences and Reports -- Includes Study on Undergraduate Tuition [1907-1935] |
4 |
4 |
|
Mark Twain Memorial Professorship -- Correspondence [1923] |
4 |
5 |
|
Wolcott Memorial -- Includes Correspondence [1921-1927] |
4 |
6 |