Skip to main content

Gannett-Tripp Library Home: For Faculty & Instructors

GTL Home Page

Library Services for Faculty & Instructors

Library Instruction

The Gannett-Tripp Library offers:

  • Lecture and demonstration sessions for College classes in a Computer Center lab or in your classroom
  • Research consultations for individuals and small groups
  • Personalized instruction for Elmira College faculty and staff in your office or at the Library
  • Presentations on specific databases and topic-related research skills

We can meet with your class and teach your students the best ways to use the library to complete a specific assignment. We can also give general tours or basic library skills workshops. To request a library instruction session, contact Martha Smith, Information Literacy and Accreditation Librarian, at (607) 735-1866, or msmith@elmira.edu.

Guidelines for Class Instruction Sessions

Please schedule your session at least two weeks in advance; this is especially important at the beginning of each term. This will ensure that you will be able to reserve the date and time you prefer. It also gives us time to prepare for your session.

We also recommend that you schedule the instruction session to coincide with a class research assignment. The students will start using what they've learned in the session right away, and will be more likely to retain what they've learned. Please provide a copy of any assignments that involve library research. Drop it off at the GTL, send it through campus mail, or by email to Martha Smith, msmith@elmira.edu.

We also ask that the instructor be present at the instruction session. This raises the session's value in the eyes of the students, and is helpful in case the students have any course-related questions during the session.

Information Literacy Standards

Information literacy forms the basis for lifelong learning. It is common to all disciplines, to all learning environments, and to all levels of education. Information literacy skills enable learners to master content--to access, evaluate, synthesize, and incorporate information effectively and ethically--to extend their investigations, become more self-directed, and assume greater control over their own learning. The Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) adopted the following standards for information literacy competency in 2000 to serve as guidelines for the promotion and assessment of information literacy abilities for students:

  • Standard 1: The information literate student determines the nature and extent of the information needed.
  • Standard 2: The information literate student accesses needed information effectively and efficiently.
  • Standard 3: The information literate student evaluates information and its sources critically and incorporates selected information into his or her knowledge base and value system.
  • Standard 4: The information literate student, individually or as a member of a group, uses information effectively to accomplish a specific purpose.
  • Standard 5: The information literate student understands many of the economic, legal, and social issues surrounding the use of information and accesses and uses information ethically and legally.

These standards are being replaced by the Framework for Information Literacy in Higher Education, adopted by ACRL in 2016.  The six concepts that comprise the Framework are:

  • Authority Is Constructed and Contextual
  • Information Creation as a Process
  • Information Has Value
  • Research as Inquiry
  • Scholarship as Conversation
  • Searching as Strategic Exploration

See more about the ACRL Framework here, and the Information Literacy Standards here.

Institutional Student Learning Outcome #4

Through its services, the Library supports Elmira College's Institutional Student Learning Outcomes, with special emphasis on ISLO #4:

Students at Elmira College will develop and employ skills in Information Literacy and Information Technology.

The Librarians at the GTL promote this outcome by teaching research skills to students in a number of ways:

  • Customized interactive instruction sessions for classes working on research projects in any field at at any level of study
  • Sessions with individual students or small groups of students, focusing on specific research needs
  • Sessions focusing on general research skills and/or research tools

Group or individual instruction sessions can include:

  • General Library orientation
  • Selecting or refining a topic
  • Selecting appropriate type(s) and levels of research materials
  • Selecting appropriate research tools
  • Instruction on the use of electronic research tools
  • Developing a search strategy
  • Assessing the relevance of material
  • Instruction on citations, and the use of bibliographic citation management tools

The Librarians welcome the opportunity to work with faculty in developing instruction sessions and research assignments that help to build students' information literacy skills.

Reserves

To place items on Reserve for your class, bring the them to the Library Services Desk along with a completed Reserve Form (available at the Library Services Desk), or submit an electronic form (see below). Reserves will be processed within 1 business day of receiving the completed form. If you have any questions regarding Reserves, ask Pam Wheeler (Access Services Coordinator, 607-735-1862) or Marge Kappanadze (Director of the Library, 607-735-1867).

Electronic Reserves

We encourage faculty and instructors to utilize their Canvas course pages for posting electronic documents. Through Canvas, copyrighted items are password protected, and available only to the intended class members. Post links to articles found in electronic format from any of the library's subscription databases using the permanent URL found with the article's database citation, attaching this proxy string to the beginning of the article's URL: http://ezproxy.elmira.edu:2048/login?url=. Alternatively, downloaded the article and load it as a PDF. Paper documents can be scanned, saved, and downloaded. Contact Marge Kappanadze (607-735-1867) for help.

Submit the Reserve Form Online OR‚Äč Print the Reserve Form Below

Interlibrary Loan

The GTL has borrowing agreements with other institutions for items not in our collections. We explore every option to acquire materials, but, unfortunately, we cannot guarantee success.

Before submitting a request, please check Library Search to make sure that the item is not something owned by the Gannett-Tripp Library.

The text of some items may be available electronically through one of our subscription services. Check to see if we have print or electronic access to specific full-text journals, or ask a librarian for assistance.

Those using this service for the first time should review the ILL procedures.

Place an Interlibrary Loan Request

Ordering Library Materials

Faculty members are invited to participate in the collection development activities of the Gannett-Tripp Library by suggesting books or DVDs for purchase that are suitable for inclusion in the collections.

Journals: The Library is not expanding its print periodical collection. Consult Journal Search (at the top of the Library Search home page) to search by title or subject for journals in our print or electronic holdings.

Books and e-Books: We will give preference to e-book purchases, but we continue to add books in print format.

DVDs: The GTL subscribes to 5 streaming media collecdtions: Films on Demand's Master Academic, Archival Films and Newsreel, and World Cinema collections, and 2 Alexander Street Press collections: Academic Video Online, Premium, and New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present. We continue to add to our collection of DVDs while encouraging instructors to examine and make use of the great content in the streaming collections, which are expanding continually. Access these collections through our A - Z Database list, or see the Streaming Video page for more information.

Read More about Ordering Library Materials

Please direct your request to the Librarian Faculty Liaison to order Library materials.

Recent additions lists: See what has been recently added to the GTL collections.

Research Help

Ask for help at the Library Services Desk - in person, by e-mail, or by phone (607-735-1862), or make an appointment to meet with a librarian. We can help you form a search strategy and choose the best electronic and print resources to use for your research. We can also assist with general publishing questions, citation style, and more.

Faculty are exempt from overdue charges, but may get email reminders regarding items are overdue. They will be charged for items that are lost or not returned. Items may be renewed online. If items are borrowed for one year, the library staff requests that they be returned to the library for inspection and inventory before renewal. Books that are checked out may be recalled for the use of another patron, and must be returned immediately.

DVDs may be booked for classroom use for a specific time. Contact the Library Services Desk, (607) 735-1862, to book a DVD.

 Material Type  Loan Period  Renewal Policy
 Book  91 days (entire term)  91 days
 DVD   14 days  7 days

 

 

 

Plagiarism

The College has a subscription for Turnitin's plagiarism prevention program. Turnitin prevents and detects plagiarism by comparing submitted papers to billions of pages of content located on the Internet, selected commercial research databases, and the Turnitin proprietary database of papers. An "originality report" is generated for each paper submitted. An instructor can view the originality report and choose whether or not to allow the student to view the report.

Turnitin is integrated into the ANGEL courseware management system. Instructors create a Turnitin Drop Box within their ANGEL course. Students enrolled in the course submit their papers to the Turnitin Drop Box, and the papers are automatically run through the plagiarism program.

If you need more information about plagiarism and how to handle it, contact Martha Smith, Nathaniel Ball, Marge Kappanadze, or Liz Wavle-Brown for confidential assistance.

It is the policy of Elmira College to comply with current copyright laws. Please be responsible when using copyrighted materials in classroom presentations, on course management pages, and in personal research. Contact Marge Kappanadze, Director of the Gannett-Tripp Library, mkappanadze@elmira.edu, (607) 735-1867 with questions regarding Copyright and Fair Use. The following documents, links, and videos are provided to assist faculty members in understanding and applying laws regarding Fair Use and Copyright Infringement. 

PDFs

Links

Videos

Loading