Skip to main content

Gannett-Tripp Library Home: About

GTL Home Page

Gannett-Tripp Library

We are here to help you succeed!

The Library is a great place to read, research, learn, collaborate, discover, and study. Our librarians and trained staff will help you find information, identify resources, and teach you to navigate and access the millions of resources that are available to you at your Library and beyond.

About the Gannett-Tripp Library

Mission

In support of Elmira College's Mission, the Gannett-Tripp Library provides leadership in the areas of information access and use by facilitating the collection of and access to appropriate information resources, programs and services for the continued academic, professional, and personal growth and success of the Elmira College Community.

Goals

Reflecting its Mission, the Gannett-Tripp Library:

I. adapts standards-based policies and practices guided by the principles of the American Library Association and the Association of College and Research Libraries.

II. satisfies the learning, teaching, and research needs of the college community by collaborating with faculty members to select, maintain, and provide convenient access to a diverse collection of quality print and electronic resources.

III. provides a welcoming student learning commons that fosters and supports teaching and learning.

IV. delivers excellent and personal service to our users in responding to their individual information needs.

V. effectively promotes and markets the library's resources and services.

VI. provides useful, informative, and quality library-research instruction in order to develop lifelong learners that are able to identify, locate, evaluate, and use information resources in all formats and in an ethical and legal manner.

VII. collects, preserves, and makes available for research, records of permanent value to the history of Elmira College, the life and work of Mark Twain, and other areas of historical significance.

VIII. develops a culture of continuous improvement through ongoing assessment of Library resources, services, activities and programs; engage in planning based on assessment and continuous improvement.

Library Standards

The Gannett-Tripp Library follows the nine principles set forth in the "Standards for Libraries in Higher Education" (2011) published by the Association of College and Research Libraries.  The nine principles are:

  • Institutional Effectiveness
  • Professional Values
  • Educational Role
  • Discovery
  • Collections
  • Space
  • Management/Administration
  • Personnel
  • External Relations

A copy of the ACRL "Standards for Libraries in Higher Education" (2011) can be found at:

http://www.ala.org/acrl/standards/standardslibraries.

Student Learning Commons @ EC

The Gannett-Tripp Library is home to the Student Learning Commons at Elmira College. The Learning Commons offers, in a central location, academic and student services that support students' success and learning at Elmira College, including:

  • Library Services, including Research Help
  • George L. Howell Tutoring Center
  • Writing Center
  • Carol and Robert Morris Career Services Center
  • Office of Retention and Advocacy
  • Learning and Disability Services
  • Counseling Services
  • Doris Fischer '64 and Robert Malesardi Finance Trading Room
  • Information Technology Help Desk
  • Computer Labs and FREE Black and White Printing
  • Electronic Research Lab
  • Multimedia and Open Labs (PCs and Macs)
  • 3 Computer Labs (2 PC, 1 Mac)
  • Photography Laboratory and Dark Rooms
  • Elmira College and Mark Twain Archives
  • Quiet Study Room (2nd Floor)
  • 8 Collaborative and 5 Private Study Rooms
  • 2 Technology-enhanced Conference Rooms
  • 5 Classrooms
  • Tripp Lecture Hall

See the Contact Us page to view the Learning Commons directory.

Loading

Gannett-Tripp Library

About the GTL

Built in 1969, the GTL is a multi-use facility, open 108 hours per week.

The GTL is home to the Student Learning Commons @ Elmira College which provides a variety of services that support students’ success and learning at Elmira College, including Library Services, Career Services, the Office of Retention and Advocacy, the Tutoring Center, the Writing Center, Counseling Services, the Nathenson Computer Center, and the Elmira College and Mark Twain Archives. 

Quick Facts:

  • 104,886 print volumes
  • 147,101 eBook volumes
  • 48,000 journal titles
  • 2,789 videos
  • streaming media
  • 94 databases
  • 2 conference rooms
  • 5 classrooms
  • Quiet Study Room
  • 7 Group Study Rooms
  • Photo Dark Rooms

Use of the Library

The Gannett-Tripp Library welcomes researchers and visitors to Elmira College. As a private institution, Elmira College reserves the right to limit access to the Library and other campus facilities. Visitors to the Library may use print resources. Minors must be accompanied by an adult or have permission from the Director of the Gannett-Tripp Library. As a courtesy, the Library offers, for a fee, a Community Borrower's Card that allows members of the community to borrow from the General Collections. The Library also offers Elmira College alumni a complimentary borrower's card that allows borrowing from the General Collections.

Use of computers is restricted to current Elmira College students, faculty, and staff. Public access computers on both the 1st and 2nd floors are available to search for Library materials. Due to subscription licensing contracts, use of the Library's electronic databases is restricted to current students and employees of Elmira College. Limited Wi-Fi access is available to Elmira College visitors, who can connect to the EC Guest Wireless Network through their mobile devices by selecting EC Guest Request, and following the prompts. 

Groups wishing to visit the Library must arrange their visit in advance. Contact Marge Kappanadze, Director of the Gannett-Tripp Library, at (607) 735-1867 or mkappanadze@elmira.edu

Student loan periods and fine information is available here. Any additional questions about loan periods and fines should be addressed to the Library Services Desk, (607) 735-1862.

Access to Special Collections, the Elmira College Archives, and the Mark Twain Archive is by appointment. Contact Nathaniel Ball at (607) 735-1869 or nball@elmira.edu Additional information about Archives and Special Collections is on our website.