Why Use Databases?
The Library's subscription databases are easily searchable sources containing articles, book excerpts, dissertations, reports, statistics, etc., which are not available on the Web. Some cover a wide range of subjects; others are subject-specific. Most offer the article's full text; others link to full text in other databases. Searching library databases saves time and guarantees that you'll find credible and appropriate resources. See the videos below for detailed information about using databases.
Database Access
The Library provides remote access to journals, magazines, newspapers, e-books, streaming videos, and more.
To access these resources from off-campus, when prompted, enter your login credentials for the EC network.
Having trouble accessing databases? Consult the link below. If that doesn't help, call the Library Services Desk, (607) 735-1862.
Database Features
Many databases offer some of the following features:
Advanced Search to string search terms together to define your search. Use limiters: date, peer reviewed, language, full text.
Subject Headings and Search Prompts offer helpful search terms.
Help Tutorials for searching tips.
Article Linking When full text is not available, locate full text in other databases.
Personal Accounts for saving and organizing search results.
Citations in several styles.
Exporting Citations directly into Zotero, RefWorks, or EasyBib.
Videos, Images
Audio Credo Reference has a ReadSpeak feature.
Language Options
Autocorrect is offered in some databases to correct your spelling errors, but in other databases, spelling counts!
About Databases in 5 Minutes
Posted with permission from Yavapai College Library.
Tips for Effective Database Searching
Posted with permission from Yavapai College Library.
Choosing a Database
Article databases provide you with 24/7 access to magazine, journal and newspaper articles. Read the description to find the appropriate database for your research needs. To help identify useful databases for your research topic, check the Databases by Subject list on the Databases A-Z page.
Here's an overview of database types:
- Interdisciplinary: cover information from a broad range of subjects.
- Discipline Specific: focus on particular areas of study.
- Subject Specific: might cover news, statistics, art, law, etc.
- Background Information: are places to begin research with definitions encyclopedia articles, etc.