Skip to main content

Free Resources during the COVID-19 Crisis: Resources

Free Text Resources during the COVID-19 Crisis

Project Muse

What: Large amounts of free content from journals and books published by scholarly presses. This content will display a distinctive "Free" icon, different from the "OA" icon used for fully open access content on Project MUSE, or the green checkmark for content held by the Gannett-Tripp Library.

Availability: Varies by publisher, but mostly through June 2020.

Access: Go to Project MUSE on the GTL’s Databases page: 

JSTOR

What: JSTOR and participating publishers have made an expanded set of public health-related material freely available.  This includes journal collections, over 35,000 books, and 26 journal archives.

Availability: Through June 30, 2020.

Access: Go to JSTOR on GTL’s Databases page: 

Harvard Business Review Ebook Subscription Collection

What: Free unlimited user access to the Harvard Business Review E-Book Subscription Collection.  This includes over 600 e-books (400+ monographs, newly published e-books, and seminal works) and 150+ article compilations of the HBR Classics series.

Availability: Through May 31, 2020.

Access: Go to Harvard Business Publishing E-Book Collection on the GTL’s Databases page:  

OER Materials through Faculty Select

What: A free, simplified version of EBSCO's Faculty Select database that helps faculty discover open education resource (OER) materials.

Availability: Through June 30, 2020.

Access: Follow the link on this page: https://more.ebsco.com/Faculty-Select-COVID-19-LP.html  (This page is directed to librarians, so, despite what it says, don’t contact an EBSCO rep!)

 

EBSCO eBooks™ Upgrades

What: EBSCO is working with more than 300 publishers to provide free upgrades for existing e-book holdings, as well as discounted pricing for unlimited user access licenses.

Access: If there are e-books that you’d like to use for your classes, whether or not they’re in the Gannett-Tripp Library's collection, please send the titles to Marge Kappanadze at mkappanadze@elmira.edu, and she'll investigate their accessibility.

National Emergency Library from the Internet Archive

What: The Internet Archive, a collection of over 1.4 million online books, has suspended all waitlists during the current crisis.

"During the waitlist suspension, users will be able to borrow books from the National Emergency Library without joining a waitlist, ensuring that students will have access to assigned readings and library materials that the Internet Archive has digitized for the remainder of the US academic calendar, and that people who cannot physically access their local libraries because of closure or self-quarantine can continue to read and thrive during this time of crisis, keeping themselves and others safe."

Availability: Through June 30, 2020, or the end of the U.S. national emergency, whichever is later.

Access: You can access the National Emergency Library at https://archive.org/details/nationalemergencylibrary

Digital Public Library of America

What: The Digital Public Library of America's e-book collection can now be accessed through the SimplyE app, available for iOS and Android devices. The DPLA offers more than 6,500 free ebook titles -- from the classics to contemporary fantasy and sci-fi.  In the app, select "DPLA" as your library and tap on the DPLA Collection. No sign-in or library card is required! You can also download titles through the DPLA's website.

Access: Download and install the SimplyE app from the Apple Store or Google Play.

COVID-19

Coronavirus illustration

“Coronavirus.” [Coronavirus (COVID-19) - CG Illustration]  Yuri Samoilov, March 20, 2020, Flickr CC BY 2.0. https://flic.kr/p/2iFZkM4 

 

Web Resources

Recommended Databases

Hover over database title to read description.

Key to Resource Icons

 -- Access limited to EC users

 -- Open access

 -- Some full text

 -- Images

 -- Video files

 -- Audio files

 -- Not searchable in Library Search