Media
Projector lens. Photo by Michael Porter; Creative Commons license on Flickr Commons.
s on the Internet.Streaming Video Databases
The Library subscribes to several streaming video collections that offer instant access to quality, Web-based videos in a broad range of subject areas to enhance teaching and learning at the undergraduate and graduate course levels. Use these tools to find and view films, and to create video clips or customized playlists which can be viewed in classrooms and embed in presentations or on Canvas course pages. Each database includes simple instructions. Need help? Contact Marge Kappanadze at (607) 735-1867, or mkappanadze@elmira.edu.
- Academic Video Online: Premium (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new windowAward-winning online videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning, including PBS Video Collection and World Newsreels Online: 1929-1966.
- New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new windowAn online streaming video collection delivering full-length feature films from leading independent distributors, along with award-winning shorts.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThousands of quality video titles suitable for both undergraduate and graduate level courses. Includes Master Academic Collection, Archival Films and Newsreel Collection, and World Cinema Collection.
- Archival Films & Newsreels Collection (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new windowHistoric newsreels from United News focusing on World War II. Useful as a primary source for historical and cultural research.
- World Cinema Collection (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new windowFeature films from renowned American and ground-breaking international directors, including silent era and mid-20th century masterpieces, and award-winning contemporary films.
- The March of Time (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection of Time Inc.’s The March of Time® groundbreaking and controversial film series from 1935–1967.
Images in Databases
Here's a list of Library databases that contain images.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowImages and background information on art and artists. Part of Oxford Art Online. Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly and popular articles on a broad range of academic subjects.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA full-text source for background information on general topics and specific subjects. Try the “Mind Map” tool to pinpoint your research topic.
DVD Collections
See the DVD tab in the Resources guide for more information about the Library's DVD collection which is housed behind the Library Services Desk. The collection contains about 2800 titles, including documentary and popular feature films.